- Testing Requirements
- Offical Notices
- Contact Us
- About Us
Ask the Imam
What is Halal?
In Arabic, the word halal means permitted or lawful. Halal foods are foods that are allowed under Islamic dietary guidelines. According to these guidelines gathered from the Qu'ran, Muslim followers cannot consume the following:
- pork or pork by products
- animals that were dead prior to slaughtering
- animals not slaughtered properly or not slaughtered in the name of Allah
- blood and blood by products
- carnivorous animals
- birds of prey
- land animals without external ears
These prohibited foods and ingredients are called haram, meaning forbidden in Arabic.